Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-28-2021, 07:52 AM   #1

Good printer for casual prints

Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone has any recommendations for a relatively good printer that's less than $300. I would like to print some photos that I've taken but I am by no means a professional and take great photos so I'm thinking that a printer would be cheaper in the long-run rather than getting phtos processed at a shop. I appreciate any advice and tips! Thanks!

07-28-2021, 08:54 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The size of your prints will have a big impact on printer cost. If you are OK with 8x10's then you have a lot of very inexpensive choices. If you need larger then the price goes up of course. Another issue is that ink jet printers need to be used fairly regularly or the ink dries up. Even if the ink is not an issue some printers run through a 'cleaning' cycle if not used for a while that runs through ink like water. Bottom line if you are printing weekly in some volume then a good printer is likely cost effective. If not, it will be MUCH cheaper to simply have your prints done at a lab. I've found that ink cost alone is similar to the cost of a lab done print, and that doesn't even consider the cost of the printer. Most of my prints are in the range $3 - 8. So how many prints do you need to make to cover the cost of a $300 printer? Not counting paper and ink costs.

That said there is some advantage to having your own printer: you can get a print immediately, you can experiment with different papers and you have full control over the way your prints come out.