Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-15-2021, 08:22 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Deep sky pix with K-1ii: Mac vs PC

I'm fairly new to the K-1ii; love the astrotracing capability, which is why I bought it. I have been shooting night-sky pix for several years (using a Canon 6D) and am a long-time Mac user. I just saw a really amazing shot on a FB group (Astrophotography for Beginners) that was shot with a K-1ii and a 300mm lens... really killer. The photog said that he stacked 180 shots (including 30 darks) in Sequator, which is an app that I know a lot of night-sky folks use. Unfortunately it is PC only. I am seriously considering buying a PC (laptop, hopefully) specifically to use in processing stacked images... on the Mac I use Starry Landscape Stacker, but I don't think that is as capable as Sequator (from what I've seen). What apps does anyone use for stacking, and if on a PC, can you recommend a specific brand/model?

Last edited by batscanner2; 11-15-2021 at 01:19 PM.
11-15-2021, 08:35 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I believe there are also some similar apps for the mac:
?Starry Landscape Stacker on the Mac*App*Store
11-15-2021, 01:19 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by bwgv001 Quote
I believe there are also some similar apps for the mac:
?Starry Landscape Stacker on the Mac*App*Store
Hi bwgv001--I do have Starry Landscape Stacker (I wrote above that I have Deep Sky Stacker, which is incorrect) and it is pretty good. I think that Sequator may be slightly more capable. THanks for the reply! (I am going to edit my original message so it correctly states that I have Starry Landscape Stacker.)
11-15-2021, 01:42 PM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery