Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2022, 08:56 AM - 3 Likes   #1

Photos: Gallery
Is there serious interest for PKTriggercord for the Mac? I might be able to do it

Hi, I'm a Mac software developer, and much better at that than at taking interesting pictures :-D

I had previously looked into making PKTriggercord work on Macs but was lacking the understanding of using the low level comms protocols (SCSI, USB) on a Mac.

Recently, I did contract work that filled that knowledge gap.

Now I could try again to make a Mac version of what PKTriggercord does, but since I have no need for this myself any more, and since programming is my profession, I'd need some external incentive for this. Also, I only have a K-5, K-3 and K-1, and it seems that the K-3 and K-1 doesn't support this method any more, wheras the K-3 II does (which I don't have).

So I could test this with my K-5 but then would need others to support tests on other cameras. And ideally those would be having some technical skills and be telling me more details than just "it doesn't work".

If you're interested and if you'd also be interested if the outcome would not be a free product, please comment here, so that I can get an idea of the interest.

Otherwise, I assume that ppl rather use a Raspi or a Windows VM (which I did back then) on their Mac.

02-01-2022, 10:49 AM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
As a side note, Ricoh's own C++ SDK does work on Mac as well. It's kind of clunky (and hasn't been updated for the K-3 III) but might be a much easier way to proceed than re-implementing the protocol

Here's an example of what can be done with it:
Introducing Pentax Wi-Fi & USB Tether by PentaxForums.com - PentaxForums.com

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)