Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2022, 05:09 PM - 2 Likes   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How do Pentaxians handle their massive photo library?

I suspect this will cause some (hopefully mild) heated discussion, but I have several hard drives and a lot of SD cards and I want to consolidate ~everything to one spot and use Lightroom Classic to manage and tag and whatnot. I have newest LRC and can keep up on the subscription.

The LRC catalog will be on the laptop hard drive and backed up.

The images will be on some (as yet undetermined size) SSD based external drive.

And yes, I am IT, so I know I need to back up the external drive as well.

What works for you?

I am a hobbyist and do this for fun, so a catastrophic drive failure will suck but I will still be able to feed my family so we need not go nuts on the cost of this setup.

Thanks!!

08-08-2022, 05:31 PM - 1 Like   #2
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

I upload to flickr, with a Pro account (unlimited storage), plus an external HD, plus occasional (not often enough) burns to DVD, and DVD's stored in a separate location...

in the event of an emergency (here that includes tornado), external drives are swiped off the desk, along with a go-bag and down the stairs to the basement....
08-08-2022, 05:42 PM - 5 Likes   #3
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery