Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2022, 03:10 PM   #46
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Wheatfield Quote
What did you find wrong with Drobo? I have one of their original ones which still works as intended, but it is also original USB, so it's slow, and a 5 bay one that also is fine so far. It's been in service for most of a decade.
I have found they like to be blown out from time to time or else the vents clog, but other than that I've had good service from them.
Several of my users bought them with cheap drives, some just died, DR support was not great. I'm a server admin (among other things) so these consumer grade things are fine for home use but not for critical data.

08-11-2022, 07:01 PM   #47
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by madison_wi_gal Quote
Several of my users bought them with cheap drives, some just died, DR support was not great. I'm a server admin (among other things) so these consumer grade things are fine for home use but not for critical data.
That's funny. When they were being sold they were being sold as pro grade product not consumer grade.
Putting cheap drives into anyhing is a fools game at best.
I did a bit of research into them and found the major reason for failure was dust building up causing them to overheat.
I take the drives out if mine every so often and blow the machine out with compressed air, paying special attention to the cooling ports..
I expect thats why mine last.
08-11-2022, 08:10 PM   #48
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Wheatfield Quote
That's funny. When they were being sold they were being sold as pro grade product not consumer grade.
Putting cheap drives into anyhing is a fools game at best.
I did a bit of research into them and found the major reason for failure was dust building up causing them to overheat.