Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-25-2008, 01:09 PM   #1

Linux guru, DSLR n00b: how do I formulate a good workflow?

All,

I've been using Linux for about 15 years, and my first DSLR, a K200d, is currently in the mail. I am trying to formulate a good starting workflow. I use Debian Lenny (testing).

With my P&S, the typical workflow was:

1. Load JPEGs into computer.
2. Review them with gThumb and delete the stinkers.
3. Paste together the panoramas with Hugin.
4. A bunch of HTML, m4, ImageMagick, and make voodoo, the end product being trip reports with 100-200 photos, e.g. Phantom Canyon 2008.

I'd like to have a workflow that costs little effort for most photos, with reasonable results, and then I can put in more work on a few important shots.

I suppose my query is: Where's a good resource for starting to build a good workflow under Linux? It's easy to find lots of information on digital photography under Linux, but I'm having a bit of information overload. I've been able to find many good articles on narrow topics, but not overviews.

A few random questions:

1. I see that there's a book called GIMP 2 for Photographers; is this still useful? It was written in 2006.

2. Should I bother shooting in RAW+JPEG? Or should I just shoot in RAW, building JPEGs in post as needed?

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Reid

12-25-2008, 01:32 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Would this do the trick? ufrb-kde KDE-Apps.org

screenshots are here:ufrb-kde servicemenu for RAW image conversion Photo Gallery by Mike at pbase.com

Teaser: