Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-23-2009, 09:04 AM   #1
Veteran Member

CS4 - manual, training CDs, or wing it?

I currently use Elements 5, and, though far from being a pp expert, I am fairly comfortable with it. Still, I would like to jump to full-size Photoshop, if anything for bragging rights ( ), so I downloaded CS4, and lo and behold, the transition doesn't look completely seamless.

Anyway, because I am a faculty member at a university, I can purchase CS4 fo education, full version for $299, or get a license for $199. The difference is that the license only comes with a disk, no manual or anything else.

Now, from my previous experience Adobe manuals are nigh useless for basic learning. So, here are my questions for CS4 users (and other):
- should I bite the bullet and get the full version? Does it come with the training DVD I see mentioned occasionally, besides the manual? And if so, is the training DVD any good?
- Or should i get the license, and use the difference to buy training material elsewhere? Any suggestions on what to get?
- Should i get the license, suck it up and learn it on my own? I know that's the best way to go, but what is everyone else's experience with the steepness of the climb?
- Or should I upgrade to Elements 7, save a bundle, and fuggadaboutit? Do I really need CS4? I am a fairly basic, strictly personal/family/friends-use photographer.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks

01-23-2009, 09:50 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I'd buy the license for $200 and I'm a Gimp user. So, it seems like a no brainer to get a legit copy for 2 bills.

It's not possible to "wing it" and get even 10% of Photoshops's [or Gimp's FTM] capability out of it.

If you're buying it for "bragging rights", may I suggest just donating the license to a deserving student, seriously.