Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-27-2009, 01:39 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
PP: How much is TOO much?

I am somewhat new to digital photography and have Photoshop which I use for very mundane editing such as cropping, brightness/contrast, and sometimes small color tweaks. I know nothing of layers and masks and some of the higher level tools at this point.

Seeing some of the amazing gallery shots in this forum, I've concluded there are more tools which may be used to bring a good shot up to a great shot; I am starting to play around a bit more.

So, I took as an example a very ordinary, somewhat poorly contrasted landscape (below) and just tinkered with the magic wand tool to isolate an area to which i adjusted color and brightness/contrast and the unsharp mask tool. again, nothing very complicated at this point. What i got was something that to me looks much better than the original, but also seems to look surreal. Am I being too heavy handed with the PP here? In other words, when you see the AFTER pic, does it just cry out, "Photoshop!"???

Any opinions and suggestions for simple PP improvements are most welcome here. I take constructive feedback well, lol. I thank you in advance.

Mike

BEFORE (as shot)

AFTER

Yes, that is Sausalito, CA.

01-27-2009, 04:05 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I am speaking from a constructive point of view and from the point that I still limit myself to the side of PP as you described yourself initially with minimal dabblings beyond that...

Your particular example is just a little too much, and the foreground has just a tad too much punch. The biggest issue I see is that there is a bit of a halo around the tree-sky line at the end of the point in the foreground and also a bit of a halo at the horizon in the distant land/sky interface.