Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-01-2009, 05:43 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Lightroom/General software migration help!

Hi,

I am about to upgrade from the computer I have been using for the past 4 years to a new one. I am concerned however about the software I have downloaded onto my current machine. One of them, being Lightroom. Is there a way to somehow transfer the entire software, along with presets to a new computer, via transferring to an external HD and then loading that onto my new machine as it current sits on my old computer? I am not so concerned about the photos files, which I have already copied on my external HD, but some of the software I have licensed for my current computer, I would like to transfer over. Is this possible?

Jason

03-01-2009, 05:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Never done that but there is lot's of advice available in the internet, for example:

Adobe Forums - Moving Lightroom 2 folders and settings to another Lightroom 2 computer

Would be nice if report back to us all if you succeed and have some important note for us...
03-01-2009, 06:09 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Saw that, but from my reading through it again, it never really advises something that sounds like a clear cut solution.

I am technically savvy, but not a desktop technician, so I was hoping soemone could point me some place where it seemed easy to understand, or perhaps someone here has done this before?

Meanwhile, I will continue my searching on the inter-web thingy.

Jason
03-06-2009, 01:46 PM   #4

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Jasvox Quote
Saw that, but from my reading through it again, it never really advises something that sounds like a clear cut solution.

I am technically savvy, but not a desktop technician, so I was hoping soemone could point me some place where it seemed easy to understand, or perhaps someone here has done this before?