Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2009, 09:51 AM   #1

Photo paper

Does it really make that big of a difference if you dont use the same brand photo paper as the printer your using? Now that I'm using an Epson printer(Stylus 1400) I have noticed that there isnt as big of a selection in my shopping area of Epson paper as there is HP(ie at Staples). Not sure why this is as they sell just as many Epson printers as HP. I have never printed on anything but an HP that has a memory card slot(trying to expand my horizons ) before so I'm a newbie at printing any other way.
Also, now that I can make larger prints I was wondering what any of you use as far as fine art paper. I see that for larger prints Staples has alot of their own brand of photo paper(I know this is not fine art paper, just another thought) and was wondering if it's any good at all. Thanks for any help.

04-04-2009, 11:36 AM   #2
jlp
Forum Member

The short answer is . . . yes. All paper is not created equal and all ink is not the same (e.g., dye based, pigment based) and there exists an interdependence of the two together on the final result. To add to the confusion, the need for a correct profile for the printer/paper/ink combination affects the outcome. There are articles on the web addressing the broadness of the subject. Here's a link to a short primer to start the journey . . . good luck.
04-06-2009, 11:48 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi,
I have to disagree with your short answer, jlp.
For number of years I've been using Red River Paper on Canon IP5200 printer and couldn't see any significant difference when tried Canon paper.
Of course, it could be different with Epson printers/paper.
04-06-2009, 11:57 AM   #4