Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-13-2009, 08:48 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
New to RAW with tons of questions

Hello,

Let me set the baseline for my questions: I am by NO means a pro. I am a self taught amateur. I've never taken any formal classes on photography. Just years with my trusty K-1000 and many digital cameras in the last 10 years or so, plus asking tons of questions
My experience in digital has been jpg only until now. I have a very old version of Photoshop that works perfectly fine for my requirements: Cropping, minor color, contrast and brightness corrections etc.
I've had my K100DS for over a year, but now it is that I am begining to enter the world of RAW imaging. I see a lot of discussions and arguments about raw vs. JPEG and I don't want to get there. I want to get my own conclussions.
My PS does not recognize PEF so I have to rely on Pentax Photo Lab or Raw Therapee.
So far, playing with PPL I see an advantage is the capability of adjusting white balance.

Some of my questions are:

-Are there any good online tutorials on handling raw files or tutorials about these 2 applications?
- Any good tutorial on histogram tone curves?
- Any tutorials on white balance?
-If I convert a raw file into a JPEG for processing in Photoshop, would it be the same as if I had taken the pic in JPEG in the first place?
- Does it makes any difference if I convert the raw into a TIFF for Photoshop processing and then converting it into a JPG for printing or publishing whatever?

Thanks,

04-13-2009, 09:03 PM   #2

I'll let others fill in details on software and tutorials, but a couple quick answers:

QuoteOriginally posted by ismaelg Quote
If I convert a raw file into a JPEG for processing in Photoshop, would it be the same as if I had taken the pic in JPEG in the first place?