Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-21-2009, 07:38 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Post processing- true artistic interpretation?

I'm starting this thread to get feedback from all the different photographers and artists here on the forums.

This isn't a posture thread or myself wanting to take a stance, but I've been mulling this over for a bit in my head, and I thought it would be an interesting debate.

Basically, I'm a self-taught designer who was an avid snapshooter when younger who's gotten back into photography in the last couple years because of the Pentax DSLR system. And now, having used digital tools for design for such a long time, I'm finding that the PP phase is just as exciting and driving my desire to create more images.

What I find is that because of the bit depth advantage of shooting RAW digital format, I can move into a phase of artistic interpretation of shots in the post-processing phase: in the "Lightroom" (and Photoshop) is where I start to feel an image come together, and I can go beyond what the actual recorded pixels are in the image to create something closer to what I want to express.

I don't want to discount great shots in and of themselves, but when I want to express something artistically, the base shot is just the canvas and paint, as it were. To capture a photograph is just that- a capture. Yes, it has to have all the right technical aspects in place, but sometimes I find a shot that on first review is not quite right in terms of the technicalities of the photo has a hidden potential that doesn't come out until post processing begins- and often leads me down an experimental path with surprising results!