Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-22-2009, 04:48 AM   #16
Inactive Account

I am a novice, and started out uring LR simply because it was cheaper than full PS. At the time I thought it was a subset of PS filters geared towards raw processing (similar to elements). I soon found out differently, sadly there is not much integration between the two.

I like the interface of LR a lot better, IMHO it fits closer to the workflow. But some basic stuff is missing, so you still need PS

Right now I shoot in PEF, import in LR as a DNG. I do pre-selections in LR, make subsets and selections etc. I do own PS4 by now, but always call it from within LR using the 'Open as Smart Object in Photoshop' after doing the basic wb corrections etc in LR. If you do it that way, the result will be saved inside the collection you are working in next to the original raw file. It makes it much easier to keep track. The final export to jpg or printing is done from LR.

My ideal would be to be able to add my personal selection of PS modules/filters to the LR interface to get a unified workflow. But that is probably a long way off.

06-22-2009, 10:09 PM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
Well after playing around with LR 2 for a while and looking at the tutorials it's really quite amazing what can be produced...and with ease and speed AND it keeps a record of all the adjustments so you can go back later and change things...it's worth it just for that! The Graduated Adjustment tool is fantastic for recovering blown out skies. (Yeah I know probably shouldn't have them anyway!) Will definately be getting it I would hardly have to use PS now.
06-23-2009, 02:06 AM   #18
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I just finally upgraded to LR2.3 from LR1.4 and WOW what a difference. I have PS3 Extended (who knew owning the Extended version would turn out to be potenitally useful...as in video from the K-7!!! weeeee).