Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-06-2009, 11:08 AM   #1

Linux Workflow (Ubuntu)

Hey all you pentax owners,

I'm a linux users and saw some other threads with linux users, so I thought I'd share my workflow, and hope to get some better suggestions from everyone else does for a workflow. I'm completely new to SLR's but spent my honeymoon in Germany learning tricks of the trade. I shoot in manual, PEF raw, and in the last month I've had the camera, I've shot almost 50 gigs of pictures.
  • I have a directory ~/photos I keep all my photos in to separate them from other Pictures and what not.
  • I rsync my camera card to ~/photos, and then clear the card. When prices come down a bit more I might consider buying new cards for every shoot, but for now I delete them.
  • Then I create subdirectories for the event and move the entire day directories into that subdirectory i.e. ~/photos/honeymoon/101_0605
  • and then look at 101_0605, and decide what to rename that folder, i.e. heidelburg
  • Then any pictures I want to "develop" I open in ufraw, and save to ~/photos/developed/category/etc...

Now I'm obviously missing some steps, of most importance metadata. Is there anyway to edit metadata for the pef files, or should I add metadata to the finished jpegs, or would you suggest I take my photos in DNG format?

I'm open to any suggestions, and am curious what all of you are doing for your workflow.

Sam

07-06-2009, 03:45 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You should get lots of feedback on this. Ubuntu 9.04 user here. My workflow:

- take card out of camera, stick it in PC, transfer to Photos folder.
- once transferred to PC successfully, delete all files from card, put card back in K20D and format in camera.
- files saved under folders by date; this works for me but might not for others; those who need a better memory jog than date may use tags, etc., to help.