Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-03-2007, 03:23 PM   #1

Tips on taking Baptism pictures

First, sorry if this is in the wrong forum.

I have been asked by a co-worker of mine to take baptism pictures of her new born baby in a few weeks. She asked what I charge and I told her nothing since I have never done this before and I just want to take the pictures so her baby's baptism can be documented. She said she would give me some money just to cover the cost of putting the pictures on a CD afterwards and for my time.

It will be in a Basillica, I have never been inside of it but I am sure it will be kind of dark. I have had my K10D for about two months with the Sigma 24-135 f/2.8-4.5, Pentax SMC M 50 f/1.7, and a Zenitar 16 f/2.8. I don't have a flash other than the onboard one.

I plan to just keep the 24-135 on and fire away. I think using Av mode would be best setting the aperature between 2.8 and 5 or so for depth of field and the slightly out of focus background. I want to try and keep the ISO down and hope to not go over 800 with it set to Auto. This I think would keep the shutter speeds around 1/40-1/100. Plus the SR will be an added benefit.

I don't like using flash and prefer the natural light look. I will probably use AWB and possibly set a custom after I see what the first shot looks like.

I am still learning what settings work best for the K10D. One good thing is, my sister is having her confirmation a few days before this baptism. So I will be able to experiment. Anyone have any tips for me? Should I use a different mode? Maybe P with it set to depth of field (now high speed). Or TAv and set the shutter/aperature?

Thanks

05-03-2007, 05:28 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by WildSioux Quote
First, sorry if this is in the wrong forum.