Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-25-2009, 03:23 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Your most basic PP method?

I am still learning PSE and am curious about what you do to every photo you process. Would anyone mind giving me a quick breakdown of it?

Also, I am finding that my conversions are a bit underexposed, and a bit shallow in tone. I used to have access to PS7, but only have PSE now for converting to B&W. Any tips there? Thank you!

07-25-2009, 03:38 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Kierra,

PP can be as involved or as simple as you would like to make it.
If you're shooting in JPEG and just editing in PSE thereafter, there isn't as much scope for adjustments (without degrading quality) as there would be with shooting RAW, and allowing CameraRAW to do the initial PP work.

Nevertheless - simple stuff like auto levels are usually helpful, but each photo needs different levels and effects to get the desired effect.

Best thing is to get it right in camera first before applying PP.
07-25-2009, 03:44 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You might want to look into Lightroom 2.4 for a more intuitive approach to postprocessing RAW files. Trial version is available from Adobe if you want to take it for a test drive.
07-25-2009, 03:53 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Well, I pretty much always shoot RAW and often I pull the blacks down a bit and then I adjust levels and occasionally increase saturation a bit. Is this pretty typical? I think it works for my color work, but again I am having trouble with conversions in PSE...

07-25-2009, 04:42 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Different images might need different things, and of curse there might be certain images where you just have some unique creative idea you want to try. But as far as basic bring-the-image-up-to-snufff processing, I generally look at the following:

- crop / rotation
- overall exposure