Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-13-2009, 01:30 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Does Older and Wiser Go for Post-Processing Too?

I'm a world-class procrastinator, and I'm just getting around to going through a bunch of photos I took this summer. A couple of them I'd already started playing around with, but even in the past two months I've developed a new (hopefully better) way of post-processing, so I discarded those ill-thought edits for my new ones.

That got me to thinking....I'd probably process photos I took ages ago (a.k.a. last year) a LOT differently if I'd taken them now. And since I shoot in RAW and finally have access to my those photos (a long story, but just imagine a computer hard drive wrapped in bubble wrap and shipped overseas in a plastic container), I started going through them....

And all I can say is that I was a total noob back then, and it shows!

So have any of you gone through and re-processed photos you took a long time ago and had written off as finished? Have you saved any photos from the never-never-land of forgotten parts of your hard drive? Most importantly, what did you do differently the second go-round?

And if you haven't done this and want to use this as an excuse to, I would heartily recommend it.

08-13-2009, 01:36 PM   #2
Veteran Member

i know that i still have alot to learn, but i dont bother going to old photos because they in themselves are not that great, so i just go out and make new photos.

however post-processing is a slippery slope

there are so many different ways you could process a digital photo nowdays, its a matter of taste (some better than others), but with respect to your own work, i wouldnt really worry so much, whats done is done.
08-13-2009, 03:00 PM   #3
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I do not sharpen, bump contrast, or lighten as much as I used to.
08-13-2009, 03:58 PM   #4
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter