Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2009, 05:27 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Canon Pixma Pro9000 - opinions?

Hello,

I'm in the market for a reasonably priced a3 printer that doesn't clog with sporadic use and which produces prints to be drymounted that I can reasonably give away as presents and won't degrade too much over time. I couldn't care less about the print speed. I've heard very good things about the Pixma range, is anyone here able to back this up for me?

Many thanks in advance.

09-05-2009, 06:01 AM   #2

I am not a printing expert and have not used any of these more expensive printers. But from the reviews and tests I have read many point to the Epson A3 printers in the same price range is comparable, if not better.
09-05-2009, 06:28 AM   #3
Pentaxian

I've had the Pro9000 for around a year, makes stunning prints.
I've used the Canon, Kodak, and Inkpress papers; of varying sheen's with
consistent results.
Like you've asked, I don't print print every day. Sometimes it may be several weeks or a month between prints. I've never had nozzles clog. Lately I've gotten into the habit of running a print of a test target at least once a month. It verifies that all nozzles are working and that my Monitor calibration hasn't drifted. The Canon head can be cleaned easily and replaced if needed. That's the one selling point that really sold me on the Canon vs, the Epson.
I use OEM ink, it costs more but I like the consistency of the color. I use aftermarket ink in a Canon i960 and have never been happy with the colors.
How long does it last ? Don't know, if it makes it 20 years I'll be happy, after that
Heirs can do a reprint ;-))
09-10-2009, 05:38 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I have had the Pro 9000 for about 2 years. The longest I've gone between prints is maybe 3 weeks. I try to print something even if I don't need to, just to keep things flowing.