Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-15-2009, 05:48 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Camera RAW

OK, I'm a self-taught idiot when it comes to pp: I shoot in RAW and use FastStone and PS Elements 6 to process photos. I've gotten to the point where I really need to make some coherent decisions about my pp set up and image management strategy but that's probably a future thread.

What's on my mind right now is Camera Raw because of an exchange in another thread here.--to wit,
Me: Wait! There's a CA repair tool in the raw converter? Which raw converter?

Rich_A: Camera RAW has CA built in. It's the tab that looks like the stack of lens elements. Make sure to select either Highlight Edges or All Edges and zoom in to around 200% to really see what the heck is going on. Also, use ALT (for PC) or Option (for Mac) while dragging the sliders to eliminate other colors, this is a really useful way to use the tool.
So I went into PSE and, while I did find some neat stuff I had previously overlooked, I didn't find what he's talking about. Now I assume that when I open a RAW file in PSE, the image opens in Camera Raw--is that right? I also gather that what I've got is version 4.4.1--maybe the functionality he's talking about is in a more recent version? Can I upgrade the Camera Raw without upgrading PSE?

Man, this stuff is complicated once you scratch the surface!

10-15-2009, 06:43 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
ACR and Photoshop Elements

There are two ways to access Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) in Elements, well three actually. Elements comes with a photo viewer/catalog. In Windows it's more or less bundled. On a Mac you get a copy of Adobe Bridge. Using either program to open your RAW files will open them up in ACR.

You should also be able to just double click on a .pef or .dmg file and have ACR open it. You may have to tell you system which program you want to open the files.