Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-11-2009, 04:44 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
How can i convert Raw files (DNG) into jpeg in LR2?

Is it the same quality if i shoot Jpeg from the camera than shooting raw and then convret it to Jpeg?

Last edited by rustynail925; 11-11-2009 at 05:08 AM.
11-11-2009, 05:23 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I'm no expert in Lightroom, but you can get similar results as your camera, plus you can do lots of other things that your camera may not be able to do. You can get different results from one picture without loosing quality, as the original RAW file doesn't actually change. To actually export as a JPG, I usually right click on the picture and select Export. There are setting in the export area where other adjustments can be made. (picture quality, size, etc.)
11-11-2009, 05:37 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I mean if i shoot raw and then convert it to jpeg files. will it be the same quality than just shooting Jpeg from the camera?
11-11-2009, 06:38 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by rustynail925 Quote
I mean if i shoot raw and then convert it to jpeg files. will it be the same quality than just shooting Jpeg from the camera?
It depends on what you want to do with the jpeg. If the jpeg from the camera is not going to be edited further you will find it will suit your purpose 90% of the time. If you want to edit the file on your computer to any degree you are better shooting raw and using computer software to convert it to jpeg.

Shooting raw will give greater lattitude when processing it into a jpeg or tiff. The ability to extract detail from underexposed areas can be very useful, among many other advantages. When you work with the raw file you have all the captured data available, so any editing you do will have the best chance of giving you the best result...ie without excessive noise/posterisation etc.