Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2010, 08:18 PM   #1
Forum Member

Help! My prints are darker than My Monitor, why

I had ordered prints from Snapfish and Walmart. My prints seem to be more saturated and darker than what my pictures look like on the cumputer?..I am not sure what to do about that. I just bought this Camera so I am new to SLR's..But the pics should look like how they look on my computer, right???

And I should add, some pics have a little bit of red in them???

02-25-2010, 08:34 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is there anyway you can post one so we can see what you're seeing?
02-25-2010, 09:00 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Your experience is not unusual. While modern print process does a really great job, there are fundamental differences between the image as emitted as colored light by your monitor and the image as reflected from a pigment coated sheet of paper. My home printer produces very nice finely detailed images, but the appearance of the prints usually tends to be somewhat darker and less "luminous" than the image on the screen. My understanding is that higher quality papers coupled with the current generation of inks might produce better results, but the process would still be one of trial and error. (Sort of like printing from film transparencies in the darkroom. Hours of work and $$$ on paper and chemistry for one print!)

Steve
02-25-2010, 09:09 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Yeah, what Steve said too.

02-25-2010, 09:24 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

This is a very popular topic and has a very short answer - your monitor is brighter than the prints, especially if its an LCD which people tend to run the Gamma much higher than prints can obtain. CRT monitors were less of a problem.
02-25-2010, 09:42 PM   #6
graphicgr8s

QuoteOriginally posted by imtheguy Quote