Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2010, 02:45 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Question about printing/ppi/ and different colour space's

Ok, im looking at getting some prints done. Now my camera is a k200d which the colour space is set at sRGB. Now i shoot RAW and do PP in Lightroom 2.0
and having being exporting all my pics as JPEG in sRGB and PPI as 240 (lightroom default)

Now this Printing Company -
Orders - Pixel Perfect Pro Lab - The Digital Photography Lab

says on that page - "CLICK TO CONFIRM YOU ARE UPLOADING
300 PPI, ADOBE RGB, JPEG IMAGES. "

Does this mean i can not give them my sRGB 240PPI JPEGS?

Or will i have do go back and export them all again to ADOBE RGB and 300PPI?

This is my first time getting some proper prints done too by the way.

Thanks,
Simon

03-15-2010, 02:56 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
ppi setting is not important really. For example, 4x6" at 300dpi = 1200x1800 actual resolution, which can also be 5x7.5" at 240dpi. That means so long as the jpeg is 1200x1800, it will do fine for 4x6" regardless of the ppi value.

As to colour space, the chosen space in camera is unimportant for raw. Lightroom uses ProPhoto RGB as the working space which cannot be changed. If the lab wants AdobeRGB jpeg, you need to export the files to that space otherwise the prints will be oversaturated. If the lab wants sRGB jpeg but AdobeRGB jpeg were given, the prints will be undersaturated.
03-15-2010, 05:10 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Ok thanks for the advice. Looks like i will go back and set to what they need.
Im going to get a couple 8x12 and 12x18 prints done and see how they turn out
03-15-2010, 06:32 AM   #4
graphicgr8s

QuoteOriginally posted by wlachan Quote