Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-11-2010, 01:29 PM   #1

Linux Post Processing

Hey everyone. I've had my K20d for a couple of months now, and I enjoy shooting everything in RAW. I love the look of my shots on my camera, but when I open them up on my Ubuntu machine for post processing, I'm not very pleased with my results (after processing). Since I'm fairly new to more serious photography, can anyone suggest any software/ tutorials for Linux based post processing software? I am currently using UFraw. Thanks so much!

04-11-2010, 01:43 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by drndrw Quote
Hey everyone. I've had my K20d for a couple of months now, and I enjoy shooting everything in RAW. I love the look of my shots on my camera, but when I open them up on my Ubuntu machine for post processing, I'm not very pleased with my results (after processing). Since I'm fairly new to more serious photography, can anyone suggest any software/ tutorials for Linux based post processing software? I am currently using UFraw. Thanks so much!
Linux Photography
RawTherapee 3.0 alpha 1 and license changes
Flickr: G'MIC
Flickr: Linux Flickrs

And Google is your best friend, as well as internet forums and user groups plus of course the excellent documentation on the software websites themselves like rawtherapee's thick manual.

Cheers!

Mike (PCLinuxOS DPE2 RC2)
04-13-2010, 12:39 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Adding a little to what newmikey says -- I like RawTherapee, and it's free, so that's worth a shot. But I would suggest staying away from version 3.0 alpha, which is in the fairly early stages of a complete re-write. Version 2.4.1 is much more usable.
04-14-2010, 11:23 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums