Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-28-2007, 05:59 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
How many successful shots in one photography outing?

Hi

Recently I took about 450 photos in an outing, only to discover later on the computer that only about 85 nos of them are "acceptable" quality. Those rejected ones are either too blurr, or just not good at all.

I am a beginner in photography and the failure of capturing more successful shots may be attributed to the lack of my skills.

I am interested to know what are your successful shots in an outing so that I can train/practice myself to meet this skill range.

Thanks!!

07-28-2007, 06:19 PM   #2
Veteran Member

You ought to practice to suit your own level of success. There isn't some magical ratio of duds to gems where you can be considered skillful.
07-28-2007, 06:54 PM   #3
Veteran Member

It depends: I probably get over 90% technically correct results. However, depending on the subject there could be from 20% to 80% shots that I would consider visually acceptable (I tend to be strict though). Sports, and active kids or animals have probably the lowest "hit rate" (20% or under), landscape, abstract or studio photography the highest (80% or over, sometimes even 100%).

However, my approach is to think before I press shutter release, not after. That results in relatively fewer shots taken per session, but they are usually all OK. (It could be 2, 3, 10 or 20 shots in a series, seldom more). I see the tendency with digital camera users that goes like this: "shoot (a lot) first, ask questions later". I call that "statistical shooting" and although this can certainly produce a few good shots one can not really learn how to make consistent quality, so relying on "statistics" unfortunately remains the only somewhat productive approach.
07-28-2007, 07:05 PM   #4
Veteran Member

As has been said, there is no magical number that determines your skill level.