Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-27-2010, 06:41 PM   #1

George Lepp Workshop

I attended an 8 hour workshop Sunday (5/23) at UCONN in Storrs, CT. For those of you who may not know who Mr. Lepp is, just pick up an issue of Outdoor Photographer magazine. You'll find him in there. ;-)

It was a very good and informative class and Mr. Lepp was delightful, funny and obviously a real pro in every sense of the word. He spoke of "Capturing the POSSIBILITIES" when you take photos. I'm working here from my notes (which were 8 pages long) so I want to quote a few key things he said that stood out for me: The first is that "I've been using Photoshop for 10 or 12 years and I still don't know how to fully use it". (That made me feel better about my skills, but also 'worried' about the plausibility of anyone being able to master that piece of software...other than Scott Kelby. lol)

There were also tips offered about other software plug-ins we could/should use to help us develop our work.

Another thing he said which spoke volumes was "Ansel Adams spent more time in the dark room than he did taking photos". Meaning, AA had a vision of what he wanted to capture and then went back to his darkroom and created the photo he saw in his mind from the raw work. Now there's no doubt some may disagree with Mr. Lepp's opinions about creating the image YOU want to see, but it is one that I happen to agree with him upon. That is not to say, however, that one should not strive to take the 'perfect' photo in its raw state. But what Mr. Lepp did emphasize is to "USE YOUR SOFTWARE". He also spoke to previsualizing; How do you want the picture to look (another reference back to Ansel Adams).

Mr Lepp also discussed what the keys to obtaining a sharp image are: Know how to optimize your lens output. Use good hand technique. Know how and why to lock up your mirror and when to turn OFF IS or VR (i.e. shake reduction).