Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2010, 08:24 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Safety in Malaysia?

Yeah, going to go overboard here. HAS ANYONE BEEN TO MALAYSIA WITH YOUR CAMERA?

Yeah... I heard there's robberies and kidnappings. I read about this just now.

I know I asked some questions about traveling a couple of months ago and someone said it was pretty safe in Malaysia. I know it isn't the most dangerous country... but yeah... again this is my first time, a bit paranoid.

06-20-2010, 10:08 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I've been to Kuala Lumpur many times with my camera and have never felt threatened at anytime, I've always watchful of my belongings in crowded situations where pick pockets might be (monorail during rush hour, LRT when it's packed, or Petaling street at night) and there is signs up around Bukit Bintang to watch out for bag snatchers but never had or seen any trouble.

Generally, it's a very safe country with exceptionally friendly people but crime does happen so just be sensible and cautious.
06-21-2010, 01:06 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I am originally from Malaysia but live in Singapore but I do go back to Kuala Lumpur and other towns a few times in a year. Broadly speaking, it is a very safe country, though it is always prudent to be mindful of your belongings, especially in crowded areas. Never had any problems be it in the city or countryside, even while traveling late at night. A lot of the petty crime is a consequence of the influx of Indonesian guest workers over the years, some of whom unfortunately turn to crime. :ugh:
06-21-2010, 12:52 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for sharing guys ;D hope to bring back some pictures!

06-22-2010, 05:53 AM   #5
Stf

Hello,