Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-25-2010, 03:54 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
No camera, just a sketchbook

What do you think about a way to get a different take on composition- by getting out pen and paper and sketching instead of shooting. has anyone ever done this deliberately? probably reinventing some kinda wheel here, but I did a bike trip through europe once, with no camera, so I sketched and being a pretty lousy artist, I tried to focus on the most obvious elements of the scene. throughout the process of sketching, little things would happen, or details, angles, perspectives would emerge. i was also way more deliberate about walking around to get the best angle, and sat there looking at something for about a thousand times longer than i normally would to take a photo. my girlfriend is a graphic artist, recently getting into photography, and duh, she's already like a master of composition. makes sense.

07-25-2010, 04:43 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Using a medium format (or large format) film camera has a similar effect, especially if you are on a limited budget.
07-25-2010, 05:07 AM   #3

Sketching is definely one good way to slow down and really notice what you're seeing.

But as Mike suggests, there are more "photographic" ways of slowing down. A large format camera does this in a number of ways: you can't shoot quickly, you typically only shoot only a few frames, you have to use a tripod, you need to think about exposure, and the image you see through the camera is upside down and backwards. All of these factors really make you look hard at what you're photographing and think about the final image.

If you can't get your hands on a view camera, you can go on a photo walk with some rules: take only one photograph using a tripod, manual focus, manual exposure, spend a minimum of an hour in doing this.