Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-31-2010, 08:21 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Making friends thru photography!

I was getting depressed from reading the Losing Friendships Over Photography? thread, so I thought it would be nice to share some positive stories about photography.

I'm not a pro so I didn't post this in the pro sub-forum. I take a lot of pictures of friends and post them on fb. People really dig it because the photos are great and I make them look good. People love that. People who I didn't know well or were unfriendly warmed up to me (IRL) after their friends tagged them in my pics. People also reach out more often because they remember me -I'm the guy from that party with the cool white camera. Nice to see you again. What's your name?

I usually don't hand out the original photos. If someone REALLY wanted one for printing for themselves or their family I'd probably give it up. Who else is going to want it? This year I gave my friend a DVD of pics of his band playing a small hippy festival. No one is going to pay me for those pics, anyway, and I thought he would want to look at them more than I do. My gamble is that the band is not going to be famous soon. They often play for free and give away their art, so I felt fine doing the same for them. Now they have a bunch of great pics to use for their band. I just asked that he credit me if they decide to use them.

Who's next?

07-31-2010, 08:30 AM   #2
mel
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have to say that I have made some great friendships through this forum, mostly thanks to BrendanPK's annual gathering in this area. These are even friendships of sufficient calibre to facilitate the lending of equipment for periods of time without any qualms whatsoever (as MRRiley is currently borrowing my fisheye )
07-31-2010, 09:42 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery