Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-12-2010, 04:25 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Advice Needed on Sports Photography

Hi All,
I am looking for some advice on shooting in a situation I have never done before.
In a couple of weeks, I am going to meet my friend in Penticton as he is doing the Ironman Canada. I am taking my photo equipment and hope to get some neat shots of athletes in action, particularly my friend while he is doing the race.
I have never done action photos to this magnitude before (the largest single swim start in all of North America(4000 competitors starting all at once)so I am hoping if anybody has any advice on how to go about this I would appreciate it.
I have a 70-300mm lens, the kit 18-55 lens, a wide angle and fish eye.
Should I look into renting perhaps a faster or longer lens? What would be a good one to rent if needed?
I am hoping to try for some closeups of my pal if possible. I am not sure what are good shutter speeds I should be shooting at? What other settings should I be using? What kind of metering should I have on? Auto focus or Manual?
Should I be using fill in flash in here?
Any other tips anyone has on this and anything else you can think of please do share. I am hoping if I can get some good shots I can frame them and give them to him.
Many thanks for any helpful advice you can give

08-12-2010, 04:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
There are literally no ends to the possibilities, though most would be dependent on your own shooting style and limits with respect to location. TBH. a worst case scenario could call for a good tripod and long reach. To which I'd say, you might want to considered a 1.7x AF TC for your 70-300 if it can support it.