Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-12-2010, 05:14 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Tips for shooting kids...ok that sounds bad lol...*Photographing kids

so im an early stage noob and tomorrow im bringing my DSLR to the elementary school camp i work at. Can you all give me some tips on photographing kids/people/portraits? i wanna put the pics on a CD and give them to the parents, i don't need anything very specific but general rules to follow when dealing with situations like this. ill be doing some shooting outside as well as in the cafeteria, the light isn't great inside. Ill be using the kit lens but i also have a telephoto and a fisheye. Any help would be great!

Thanks guys!

-Nick

08-12-2010, 05:51 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Get down to their level, don't stand and shoot down.
Use a largish aperture, they'll be impressed if your can blur the background!
08-12-2010, 06:00 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
excellent tips, thanks!
08-12-2010, 06:02 PM   #4
Pentaxian

For outside, I like to use Tv mode at 180, +0.5 EV, with my flash up and flash exposure compensation dialed back to -1. This fills in shadows on the faces and maybe gives you a little catchlight in the eyes. Inside, crank up the ISO and see if you can avoid the flash. If not you can try the technique above but with a slower shutter speed. Get kids near a window if you can. Defintely get on their level. Good luck!

08-12-2010, 06:06 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster
awesome man thats gonna be very helpful, thank you!!
08-12-2010, 06:13 PM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by iNick Quote