Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2010, 06:08 PM   #1

Football photography

Bear with me, I'm a newbie. The main reason I bought my K-x is to take football pics of my kids. One son has a scrimmage tomorrow, so I want to practice. I'm in the middle of reading Understanding Exposure, so I'm not shooting on manual yet.

I was wondering for now if you can give me some ideas what settings I should shoot at for tomorrow. Should I just put it in action mode? If it makes any difference I have the kit lens and the Tamron AF 70-300.

Thanks for your help, I appreciate any pointers!

08-27-2010, 06:22 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You will definitely want to use the 70-300mm, and sure, use action mode. That will tell the camera to focus on using a high shutter speed, so that the action is frozen in your photographs.

I do have one further suggestion, however: since the Tamron 70-300mm has a relatively slow aperture (F4-5.6), I suggest you increase the ISO to 400 or even 800. That way, your photos won't appear blurred should their not happen to be enough light.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
08-27-2010, 06:25 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks Adam! I'm so excited to finally get some good shots!
08-27-2010, 07:13 PM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian