Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-19-2010, 05:10 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Long Exposure

I have been snapping away for over 10 years now, but just snapping away...never worried about camera settings and photoshop and anything else. Just happy snapping.

Now I am being asked to do photoshoots and weddings and so on, I want to learn more about my Pentax K20D and everything else camera.

I have in the last few months aquired Photoshop SC4 Extended and loving it!

But on the "long exposure" note that I started on.....

The end result of long exposure is where you have the "soft" look of flowing water or the "mezmirizing" look of moving lights????

Is this right or do I have it wrong. I am looking in my User Manual for my Pentax K20D but not having my camera handy is proving difficult.

Any tips of getting some of those amazing shots with long exposure?

eg. of "soft" looking fog (not my photo's)

09-19-2010, 05:33 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You need a filter. Get ND8 and ND400. Experiment. Don't forget to cover your viewfinder when shooting in the light.
09-19-2010, 06:23 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by artisticpurple Quote
The end result of long exposure is where you have the "soft" look of flowing water or the "mezmirizing" look of moving lights????
If this is the question you're right but...

QuoteOriginally posted by artisticpurple Quote
Any tips of getting some of those amazing shots with long exposure?
Most of the perfect night/long shots require a lot more than tripod and 10 second exposure.

Often i realize that i'm unable to take well illuminated night scene with single exposure. Street lights, sky and shadows have much more contrast in night time than in day. This requires compensation with ND Grad filters or exposure blending in post processing (requires REALLY STABLE tripod and remote release cable).