Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-29-2010, 11:32 AM   #46
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I have an art degree, so I feel like I need to comment on this thread. I mention my degree not to impress, but to bring up my familiarity and immersion with art. I consider myself an artist, but my career is as an engineer.

To me something becomes art when it's greater than the sum of it's parts. If it's a photo of a person, it needs to do more than just express that this is a person. That something more can be the situation the person is in or what they are feeling. It can be how the world reacts to this person or even how the light illuminates their hair, face, or body to create illusion or remind us of something else. The craft part is just the technical details that enable the piece to be recognizable, or fit what the photographer had in mind. It's a very gray line and there's tons of crossover between art, craft, and documentary.

I was a painter when I got my degree. I used photography for reference for paintings, but for me the photo part of the process was more craft at that point. When I started being able to express something or catch something that made the photo more than a way to document a scene, I felt like I had cross the line into art photography.

Another big difference is for me art photography is my vision, not an art director's or client's. Again there can be crossover, but to me this makes a big difference. I would take the photos I like to take even if nobody else would ever see them. I'm compelled to do it because I want to and just feel like I should.

Edit to add: I have a much harder time judging if someone else's is, or more even harder, isn't art. In many cases this is too ambiguous and art is so personal I don't feel it's my place to say what it is or isn't.

09-29-2010, 11:41 AM   #47
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by johnmflores Quote