Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2010, 04:35 PM   #1

New Photo Contest$8000 in Prizes from IPA

Not sure if this is the right place to post this, I am a newbie here. Some of the awesome images I have seen here could win the new International Press Association contest that I just hit today.

This is the first day, it is open for entries for two months and they have over $8,000 in prizes including some very cool Alien Skin Software suites and a bunch of tripods from Manfrotto and bags from Kata. They also have free memberships in IPA in the prize packages too.

This should be an easy win, it is their first contest, I am sure they aren't getting tons of entries and it is free for anyone to enter.

Give it a shot, hope we all win.

Not Another Photo Contest, Contest

Attached Images

10-01-2010, 06:58 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It sounds good to me as an amateur but the rules should be read very carefully. The photographer retains copyright but the IPA can use the photo for whatever and whenever they want. As I say, as an amatuer, it sounds like fun. The ProPentaxians out there , or for that matter many of the AmPentaxians, (new words?)may not (or may) care for the "usage" part of the rules.

Personally, I'm gonna enter (up to 3 times). I suppose recognition could be a good thing even though I do not purport to be or believe I'd ever be a "Pro". A Pro being someone that earns half of their annual income selling their work. * Per the rules.
Myself, I've never sold a photo or ever even been offered money for any of my stuff. But.. I DO Love Photography!
10-01-2010, 08:09 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

This right here would stop me entering:

QuoteQuote:
but the IPA can use the photo for whatever and whenever they want.
Oh, and I am a pro photographer.
10-01-2010, 08:42 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by photolady Quote
This right here would stop me entering: