Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-09-2007, 12:12 PM   #1

Photo equipment security

Are there any web sits that discuss equipment security wile traveling, hotel rooms in third world country's etc. My bag is a not look like expensive camera type and use common seance but don't want to drag it around with me all the time. Would post the question on dpreview but only have yahoo and g-mail so can not. I'm just a retired hobbyist with a few primes, pocket cam, viewer, and accessories, but what a hassel to source all that stuff back together again.
Tips welcom.

09-09-2007, 03:22 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Lets not forget the overall crime rate in the USA is much higher than in most third-world countries. As such, your camera system is as vulnerable in the USA as anywhere else. Therefore, common sense rules apply everywhere, not just third-world countries.

Never leave anything in a hotel room if you value that item. This includes money/cash or anything that can be turned into cash (like an expensive camera system, laptop, etc). If you don't want to carry it with you, consider leaving it in the hotel safe. However, in cheap hotels, I would not even trust the hotel safe.

When walking around, keep your camera equipment attached to your body. Don't sit it down and turn your back for even a second. If you do, you may turn back around just in time to see someone running off with your bag. Likewise, don't hand someone your camera and ask them to take your picture. This is especially true if the person offers to do this. Some crooks hang around popular tourist spots, with a fast getaway plan in mind, just waiting for some fool to fall for this one.