Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-20-2010, 11:53 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photographing a baby

Hi all, newbie here, don't eat me alive. I promise to attempt to sound like I have a clue what I'm talking about, but I've got really beginner questions.

I'm trying, hard, to learn manual mode on my camera as fast as I can. I've got a recently turned 6 month old son as my not-so-willing subject, with a K110D, and have been doing a ton of reading but am having some trouble turning theory into application.

I took him outside on this very overcast day to play around. My ISO was set to 200, aperature as open as I could go (around 4) and then adjusted my shutter speed until I got a meter reading of 0, and snapped away. No flash for the most part, I didn't particularly like how it looked and shadowed him. Some of the pics are okay, lots seem fairly cool/underexposed to me. How do I adjust this, am I doing something wrong?

I'm finding it hard to get everything set up and adjusted, focused, get my meter to read 0, and get a picture before he has moved again.

So if you were shooting a baby, how would you do it? Just use Av mode? What suggestions do you have for a total beginner?

10-20-2010, 03:13 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I heartily applaud your efforts to "go manual". You will be a better photographer for it, not least because you'll have learned to carefully watch what's happening in the finder and think about how that might affect exposure.

But a six-month-old...man, them critters can scoot! So it may be a case of applying the wrong tool to the job -- just keeping him framed might be hard enough without also having to fiddle with exposure. (And I got my chops in the match-needle days, so I'm allowed to extol automation.)