Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-16-2010, 08:00 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
traveling by air in the u.s. with camera gear...

Hi all !!

I've never taken my dslr gear by air within the u.s. before....
I'd lake to take my k-x and a couple of lenses and would like some feedback
from forum members as to whether the TSA will give me any problems....
I don't see why, but I'd like to be properly prepared.....
Thanks, Dave M...

11-16-2010, 08:23 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Each TSA is different, but no you will not have any problems. Just tell them before the xray that there is a camera in your bag. Some TSA agents might have you take it out and put it in another bin. I never had to, but Im a pilot. Its rare but I have seen passengers have to take there cameras out.

When in doubt check your bag.

Have fun on your trip.
11-16-2010, 08:38 AM   #3
Veteran Member

TSA may want you to open the bag and even wand it for "residue" but it is generally painless and quick. Might not want to carry one of the old takumars that are midly radioactive though... LOL

As for checking bags... I would suggest that you NEVER EVER check your camera bag. No way that $3000+ worth of gear is gonna be out of my sight like that. There are simply too many opportunities for theft (or loss). And you cannot count on those TSA approved locks to secure ANYTHING. Every cargo worker in the world has the key. For bags I must check I simply zip-tie them with a unusual colored heavy-duty zip-tie. The TSA can always cut it and then it's obvious that your bag has been searched, and if there is not a "TSA Searched this Bag" tag it has probably been tampered with by unauthorized handlers.

Mike
11-16-2010, 08:44 AM   #4
Inactive Account