Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
12-22-2010, 10:28 PM   #1
mothy

Touchy, Feely, etc.

If I had a wife, she'd be jealous.

My Soligor 35 f/2 is beautiful to look at and sensuous to touch. The best part is the aperture ring snicks & clicks: They're positively sumptuous!

Anybody else have a favorite photography sensation?

Last edited by mothy; 12-23-2010 at 01:52 AM.
12-22-2010, 11:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Handling Pentax M lenses is a pleasure, also with these the process of smoothly, almost effortlessly obtaining spot-on manual focus with a split prism + microprism ring focus screen. Yesteryear: how the image gradually begins to appear in the bath when developing b&w prints, the darkroom dim red-light athmosphere in general :-)
12-22-2010, 11:36 PM   #3
mothy

Hi Jolepp,

I too, enjoy the feel of manual focusing. And while I have limited darkroom experience, I like your imagery.
12-23-2010, 09:26 AM   #4
Veteran Member

There is a sensual aspect to photography, although most these days confine it to the superfical feel of how certain body styles fit in their hands. That's never done a whole lot for me.
I guess I'm showing my age here, too, but I'm with Jolepp. There's someting about the feel of MF on fine, old lenses, especially Zeiss. Pentax's Limiteds are pretty smooth, and many of them have optics that rival Zeiss, but Zeiss had a combination of butter-like smoothness and rock-solid construction that you had to experience to appreciate fully--sort of like a women I once knew.
Watching an image magically appear on submerged paper was a visual delight as well, but it is those focus rings I remember most.

12-23-2010, 10:25 AM   #5
mothy

Thanks, Ron. I'll have to put a Zeiss on my shopping list!
12-23-2010, 11:13 AM   #6
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums