Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2011, 02:58 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Anybody worked for Brightroom Events?

Hi Everyone, (my first post on the PF site )
I have been a landscape photographer for quite some time, but recently a club acqaintance saw the shots I did for my son's HS cross country team, and he said that I should join Brightroom and shoot events for them. I am trying to find out if Brightroom is "legit", and to see if they are worth the time/effort.
Of course, no one can guarantee what the pay for an event will be... but I'm not looking to spend 2 days shooting a Tough Mudder Event, for example, only to walk away with a $32 paycheck after expenses!!

Anyone with experience? Thanks for your advice!
AtlantaChris

01-24-2011, 05:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Brightroom is VERY big and VERY legit. I'm officially a Brightroom photographer but I never work for them. They don't pay as well as the other companies I shoot for but they are pretty easy to work with.

Most companies I shoot for at sports events live by the "one-shot-one-kill" frame of mind. Brightroom has encouraged it shooters to take as many photos as possible in the past. Of course things always change so who knows now?

Brightroom does the official photos for the NYC Marathon among other very large events.
01-24-2011, 06:23 PM   #3
Pentaxian

I've seen them in action at one event, the Irvine Lake mud-run.

Anyway I checked out the work, which was about as you'd expect - documentary. However, I saw page after page of horribly overexposed shots ( I think from the guy with the camera condom) because I'm guessing he was set up for M mode shooting (though the dial looks like Av), but did not make an adjustment, or over adjusted, for the shots of people running through white bubbly foam, like here (shot by me, not them)...

that bumped up the exposure by about 2 stops and was total failure.

Last edited by SpecialK; 01-02-2013 at 06:01 PM.