Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-27-2011, 03:38 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Ideas Needed for Group (100 kids) Shot

I was asked to take school photo of our students and teachers since the school is closing down. Just looking for some creative ideas instead of just the "say cheese" command.

I have access to the old stage with rafters and a curtain behind it. I guess I could squeeze them in there. But I'd like to be able to do something with the lighting or take the shot from a different POV.

I have 2 speedlights, 1 stand, an umbrella and cactus 4 remotes.

I'm a beginner so any specifics with the recommendations is appreciated in advance

01-31-2011, 02:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

BUMP.

I've not done such shots, but one idea: If it's safe, get up in the rafters and shoot down with a wide or ultrawide or fisheye lens, with everyone below looking up at the camera.

OK people, let's have some better suggestions!
01-31-2011, 04:28 AM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A big group shot of kids will be a challenge.
There won't be much to it other than to shoot in succession to try and capture one good keeper out of many attempts, and find a simple yet effective way of entertaining them, such as to get them to sing a well-known song or tell a joke that will make them laugh for the camera. Kids are quite amenable to anything if they're bribed with fun...
01-31-2011, 07:43 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I think you should see if the stage lights can be used, this will be better than a couple of speedlights.

Just set the WB for tungsten.

As others have commented, it will be hard to get much in terms of creativity. You will need everyone looking the same way etc.

Also, are they in uniforms? You might want to consider some "uniformity of colors" if not.