Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-10-2011, 04:45 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
My first wedding.....questions

I'm doing my first wedding in April. What lenses do most of you use? I have bought some old manual lenses that are wonderful....but, I'm a little concerned about being quick....not the lenses...me! I have a manual 50mm 1.7, manual 100mm 2.8, and then the 2 lenses that came with my camera....I bought the K-x with the lens kit(18-55 and 55-300). This will be an outdoor wedding, but starting at 4pm, so I know I will need to use my flash eventually....I believe the reception will also be outdoors....I know I have some practicing to do with this flash unit. It's a Bower for the Pentax....any issues with that using manual lenses?

Thanks ahead of time for any info! The bride knows I'm just starting out and she needs a money break(hence me) but I want to hopefully wow her!

Trish

02-10-2011, 05:13 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Do you have an external flash? That's one of the things I would consider buying or renting.

As for weddings : have you ever done one as a guest? Assisted a photographer at one? If the answer is no, I can only tell you to read a lot lot lot, experiment (have friends act as newlyweds, go to the premise, test the place, the light at 4PM near the time of the wedding, etc etc). Also try to addend a wedding just to see how things work and go.

Your manual lenses will be fine as long as MF is second nature. Otherwise, I suggest you borrow/rent a fast AF lens or consider using your kit lens if the light is good. If you have time to stage shots, MF will work.

This is going to be difficult, I warn you.
02-10-2011, 05:17 AM   #3
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wheatfield recently wrote THE authoritative thread on doing weddings, and I'm sure he or someone else will be around to link it.