Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2011, 05:28 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Event Photography

Hi fellow Pentaxian,

I am just wondering if there are any corporate events/functions photographers out here?

I have been hired to cover a 2 and half day corporate events including the party afterwards. This is my first time to get PAID for doing something I love.

Any tips and tricks to share? gears wise? or style?

Thanks

03-12-2011, 09:58 AM - 5 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am not a corporate events/functions photographer by any means - however, I have been to a few. Saw some great images, and some mediocre images from them. I also have heard comments from management over the years about the various results. So.....
  • Have you asked the customer for their expectations?
  • What do they really want to see in the photos?
  • How do they plan to use the photos?
  • What do they want the images to show?
  • Do they want candid images of all (or most) of the attendees (important customers, employees, etc.)?
  • Do they want to show how big the event is, or how friendly the event was, or that the event showcased their product line, or their management, or ?????
  • Will it be inside, outside or both?
  • Will there be a lot of meeting in side rooms, or large (drink the koolaid) presentations.
  • You may want to go to the venue and see the setup, ask the venue management for photos of past events, so that you can see how some past events were photographed. Are there particular views or vantage points that would showcase the event (a balcony), that other have used (and how do you get there). Take some test shots and see how they turn out with your gear. You might need a wider lens, or a better flash, or ......