Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2007, 11:12 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Low light and noise

Hey there,

I am relatively new to digital slr (I've been doing rangefinder, medium and large for over 15 years though..).
I got myself a K10D that a friend traded me for a rangefinder I had....
This said, I use my K10D for one project, "Women on stage", that conists in portraits and live shots in low light.
Clearly, a Canon 5D would have been better for those kind of situations, right.
But I clearly don't feel like investing a huge lot of money in a Canon gear, and make a point using what I have.

So my point is how could I get the K10D to perform really well in low light, slow speed ?
I am mostly using a 50mm at 1.4 and a 100mm at 2.8. I'd love to get a 50-135mm at 2.8 since changing lenses during a concert is such a tedious process!

I am not really happy with the noise at 800iso...

Any clue?

10-22-2007, 11:21 PM   #2
and
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Using noise reduction in PP is one option, noise ninja and similar. Another option of course is to put in some fill flash, but thats not always allowed during concerts. if it is then its an option. I am not talking about 1/60 shutter speed and using the flash for the whole exposure, I am talking about just adding a bit of light to the ambient exposure, using manual flash and manual mode. Noise manifests itself more in dark areas and iso 800 is not noisy if there is eanough light, in low light it will be noisy yes.

For instance the new nikon d300 doesnt really seem to have less noise, just more NR built in. A camera with a bigger sensor such as a 5D will help yes. I wouldnt buy a 5D now though, since there should be a replacement coming prolly this year.
10-23-2007, 04:31 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums