Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2011, 02:36 PM   #1
Inactive Account

...But you really need to work on your post processing and retouching skills!

I was recently told that I was a good Photographer but that my post processing was just bloody awful because my images look, please let me quote 'old, depressing and flat".

Any advice on how to improve my post processing?

Right now I am kind of broke so Internet ressources or advice are prefered over books to buy. I don't have Photoshop but I have Lightroom 3 (and I don't use GIMP because on Mac it's too much of a hassle, when I work on the image the tool bar disappears behind the document etc...)

Any advice would be much appreciated. Here is a before and after shot, I originally intended on throwing this image away because it was under exposed but I kept it and managed to 'Salvage' it I think. Some will say it's over exposed but this effect is intentional, I wanted to give the image a sort of dreamy, otherworldly feel. Anyway, I'm told my edit is dull and makes the image look old. What do you think? Like the edit? No? How can I improve my PP?

NB: By the way people if you want to make edits fine but delete them in a week or so, I promised the model I'd remove the image by then. She's OK with me posting it here but not like permanently.

Last edited by Noob; 05-01-2011 at 04:21 PM.
05-01-2011, 02:48 PM   #2
Forum Member

Try desaturating the original picture a bit and keep some of the yellows. Add a magenta/blue filter over it and see how that looks.

For a dreamy look, B/W isn't always the route to go.
05-01-2011, 03:07 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Hope you don't mind the image edit: some filters and playing with levels etc.

[Image removed at OP's request]

All depends on what your dream looks like I guess!

I notice elsewhere that you are attempting to develop a portfolio - may be worthwhile investing in Photoshop at this point.