Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2007, 10:28 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Magic Lantern Guides: K100D, is it worth it?

Just wanted to hear some opinions of those here who actually have purchased this guide, I had a high end Canon point and shot (S1 IS) but I'm completely new to SLR world! Would it really help me tame my new K100D Super?

Last edited by chrisca70; 11-04-2007 at 10:47 AM.
11-04-2007, 12:20 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I strongly suspect so. I have the K10D and the Magic Lantern Guide for this camera continues to be very useful to me. As such, I'm sure the one for your camera will be equally helpful to you. The Magic Lantern Guide adds to the owners manual, often filling in information the manual only glosses over. Because of that, the owners manual often comes in second when I reach for a book to look something up. The Magic Lantern Guide, combined with a good, comprehensive, book on general photography, will really set you on your way. More advanced photographers may want to skip over the general photography book and focus on books covering their specific photo interests instead. Regardless, the Magic Lantern Guide is recommended to all.

stewart
11-04-2007, 01:14 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I haven't looked at it, but I have a hard time imagining what I'd use it for. I pretty much understand everything in the manual, and the things I don't know about (like the K100D's scene modes in specific detail) I think know one outside of Pentax engineers actually knows.

Can you give an example of something you found useful in the book?

And since you say it continues to be useful, what do you keep coming back for?

Thanks!
11-04-2007, 03:23 PM   #4
Veteran Member