Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-16-2011, 10:04 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Suggestions for photographing a car race?

I have a lot of airshow photography experience, which I hope translates over to car races, but I've never been to a car race before, so I'm curious if anyone has any tips they could share? I will be at the Baltimore Grand Prix in September, in one of the upper rows of the grandstand.

Regarding focal lengths, at airshows I shoot primarily with a 70-200mm f/2.8, sometimes with a 1.5x teleconverter. I assume that will work pretty well at a car race? Last winter I picked up an 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6, I haven't shot with it much, but I plan to bring it with me. Would I need anything longer than 400mm? Will 300mm be ok most of the time?

05-16-2011, 10:17 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Very cool that your coming to Baltimore. I plan on heading down as well. (I only live about 15 minutes from the race)
Wear your Pentax shirt, maybe we will bump into eachother
05-16-2011, 06:11 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SlickYamaha Quote
Very cool that your coming to Baltimore. I plan on heading down as well. (I only live about 15 minutes from the race)
Wear your Pentax shirt, maybe we will bump into eachother
Cool! I'll have to get a Pentax shirt first. Or maybe a hat.
05-16-2011, 08:39 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
I've been considering picking up the Samyang (Rokinon, Pro-Optic, etc.) 500mm f/6.3 lens, and was wondering if a 500mm mirror lens is useful at all for car races? I realize that mirror lenses can be tricky, what with their thin DoF and manual focus, but maybe for a car race at least they'd be usable by pre-focussing at a point on the track in advance of cars getting there, then taking pictures as the cars go through that point?