Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2007, 10:12 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Metering Techniques

I've been shooting with a DSLR for about 18 months, now. My previous cameras were a K1000 and an MX, both of which were manual exposure. I used these cameras for twelve years, and had grown accustomed to manual metering.

When I got my *ist DL2, I had to relearn how to take pictures. Took about six months. Still, I don't feel as proficient in getting great exposures with the DSLR as I think I should be. I really miss the in-viewfinder light meter. I still make mistakes, and considering the technology incorporated into this camera, I think I should be making fewer mistakes.

In particular, I find the DL2 tends to auto-expose a full stop too dark. I am often bumping up the exposure in Lightroom. I use EV adjustments when shooting, of course. But then I often forget to reset the EV, and I end up exposing my next shot incorrectly. Since there's no light meter in the viewfinder, I have no visual indication that my next exposure will be off.

Certainly, a handheld spotmeter would be useful, but would be an encumbrance for walking-and-shooting.

I suspect my technique needs adjustment. I can't believe that the best way to shoot is constant chimping.

11-07-2007, 12:12 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Are you using the matrix metering mode or center (or spot) weighted?
11-07-2007, 12:36 PM   #3

Original Poster
I use matrix metering.

I'm aware that the automatic metering can be fooled into underexposing objects against bright backgrounds. However, I get the impression that the camera is desined to deliberately to try to overprotect me against blown highlights.

Sadly, I'm most comfortable using my screw-mount lenses in Av mode. I find them more predictable.
11-07-2007, 12:45 PM   #4
Veteran Member