Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-31-2011, 10:45 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Does anyone use Picasaweb?

I've been using Flickr for a few years now, but Picasaweb has gotten me a little curious lately. I never thought of the service as a social one, but photos seem to be half decent to find, and the commenting system seems to be there, so I guess the site has potential - but defiantly not as user friendly as Flickr I think. Does anyone use it professionally or socially or for any other reason?

Don't recommend Smugmug or Zenfolio either, we all know they're good websites :P

05-31-2011, 11:13 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I use it personally and professionally

I use picasa to organize and quickly view files and to upload finished pieces to my picasaweb storage site.

I use Adobe bridge to actually find the images when I am working on them since its easy to do batch edits of images or filenames

If requested, I make the folders from shoots private and send only the subject the link. Then no one but him/her and I can view them. If you batch edit the filenames as a sequence of numbers, you can make it easy on the viewer to choose which images they like or want to order by simply writing the file number down.

The site also makes slideshows easy and embeddable. You can embed a nice slideshow in your preexisting website.

One thing I like about picasaweb is that it isn't as social as flickr. Honestly, all those stupid clubs and fake award things all over the comments just pisses me off. Picasa has commenting and it works just fine. It has an explore tab which features a few great shots a month (I had one featured once, now my image has 230,196 hits).

Its actually very easy to use, maybe moreso than flickr

Hope this helps
06-01-2011, 12:51 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter