Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-02-2011, 10:13 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Thoughts on professional photography

I've been pondering a bit about what shooting professionally would be like, and I've found that the idea of being "a photographer" doesn't really sit well with me. I think it's partly because I enjoy just going out by myself or with other friends where we're all taking pictures, and being able to take my time, and just shoot as I see stuff. The thought of a high-pressure environment seems like it would take a lot of the enjoyment out of it for me. Granted, I'm still pretty new to photography in general, and I have tons more to learn, but I just don't really like the idea of being "the photographer". Any pros out there care to share their experiences with this kind of thinking?

06-02-2011, 10:29 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not a pro here, but have earned some income from the vocation. The thinking, attitude and frame of mind changed for me as soon as I began providing a service for a fee. Free or unsolicited work has no innate pressure implied and thus, you are free to experiment for yourself.

Learning and experience are the biggest tasks for any budding photographer, and this phase is where it occurs. Learning should also be complemented with professional training in the vocation, particularly if you're considering a career in it, whether outdoors or in the studio.

I have some experience, and the confidence certainly builds after the first few paid assignments. But each has its own challenges, and its being prepared for those in advance that helps most. Others more experienced than I can share more on this.
06-02-2011, 11:25 PM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member