Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-13-2011, 09:43 PM   #1

Grainy picture? help!

Hey I'm new here, so first i wanna say hi I'm Dave. I'm trying to take a picture to have as a backdrop for my website but every time it comes out grainy, i'm new to this and have done a little research into ISO's. mine was on auto which i think was 3200.

here is the pic Name:  IMGP1348.jpg
Views: 1630
Size:  146.8 KB

06-13-2011, 10:57 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I don't know what camera you have but on mine, it comes out too noisy at that ISO. Try dialing it down a bit
06-13-2011, 11:23 PM   #3

Original Poster
hey i have a Pentax K-X
06-13-2011, 11:29 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Your ISO is too high. Set the camera on a tripod and drop the ISO to 200 or 400. That should provide you with a less gariny picture.

regards

Chris

06-13-2011, 11:31 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Ah ok, same as mine then. The highest I like to push mine at is 800 for night shots. For portrait shots I prefer to keep under 200 if I can. Others may differ.
06-14-2011, 12:23 AM   #6
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There is a simple way to reduce the grainy appearance with high ISO without changing your technique: use a noise reduction software for PP. There are some excellent dedicated NR softwares. I use Noiseware (you can instal it free), there is Noiseninja and a few others.

Give it a try for your existing shots.

However the earlier posts provided good advice to lower manually the ISO, and this is also good advice for future shots..
06-14-2011, 12:47 AM   #7
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by dave.f.w Quote
...i'm new to this and have done a little research into ISO's. mine was on auto which i think was 3200.
This should be an excellent resource: What is ISO on your digital camera, how to use ISO settings